So I joined a gym a few weeks ago, and as a result, got two free sessions with a trainer. Oh boy...
My first session was last Wednesday. It was brutal. Just to give you an idea...
Trainer: How often do you workout?
Me: Mm....haven't set foot in a gym in 2.5 years.
Trainer: Okayy...Well, how often do you exercise? Sports, running, etc?
Me: Mm....yeahhhh...don't really do that...
Trainer: Gotcha.. so do you walk a lot in the city?
Me: Mm....Notsomuch...
Trainer: Oooookay...enough questions. Why don't we just get started?
So we do some lunges and squats for a few minutes and he takes my pulse. Then he has me do some more exerting exercises like high-knee runs and butt kicks. After I am exhausted he takes my pulse again. I can't properly describe the look of befuddlement that came across his face as he said, "Hmm. Well, I've never had this happen... your pulse didn't change."
Apparently, my heart rate should've jumped from about 120 after the lunges to about 150/160 after the running. It didn't. The ol' ticker tops out at about 120 right now. Not so good.
We tried doing weights the first day..but after 5 minutes I was going to be sick, so we decided it'd be best to stop for the day.
Only one way to go from here.... ;)
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment